Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. was organized at Howard University on January 16, 1920, as the result of encouragement given to our five founders by Charles Taylor and Langston Taylor, members of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

These Sigma brothers felt the campus would benefit by the development of such an organization as sisters to the fraternity. Thus, Zeta and Sigma became the first (and only) constitutionally bound Greek-letter sister and brother organizations.

Our five founders chose not to embrace the tenets of established sororities and chartered Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. to encourage the highest standards of scholarship through scientific, literary, cultural and educational programs; promote service projects on college campuses and in the community; foster sisterhood; and exemplify the ideal of Finer Womanhood.

Our five founders (called our "Five Pearls") of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. are Arizona Cleaver Stemons, Myrtle Tyler Faithful, Viola Tyler Goings, Fannie Pettie Watts and Pearl Anna Neal.

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., a community-conscious, action-oriented organization, is comprised of over 125,000 members in more than 800 chapters throughout the United States, Africa, Europe, Asia and the Caribbean. Zetas are a diverse group of college-educated women representing numerous professions including education, health care, information technology, engineering and science, accounting and finance, law and government, religion, entertainment and journalism. Zeta women influence the social, economic, and cultural structures of our society on a local, national and international level.

Since our inception in 1920, we have addressed the relevant needs of our communities with programs focused on education, health and wellness, drug abuse prevention, economic development, and scientific research to name a few. Over the years, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. has been recognized for its leadership and contributions to the community by charitable organizations and community leaders, various media outlets and countless city, state and federal government officials, including past and current Presidents of the United States.